Pandatronics

Gaming, Anime, and Life without hearing

Toryuken May 19th-20th is coming

Posted by pandatr0nics on 05/13/2012

 

So here we go !

Toryuken presented by TorontoTopTiers  here in the City! It’s coming fast ! it’s next week! and I’m really nervous about it all! So I’ll give you a run down of the events that have led me to this after the jump.

 

Let’s go back to EVO 2011 that I spent watching together with a group of friends of mine. I had a lot of fun seeing the competition and slowly that competitive fire was being relit. As the months passed I was anticipating the release of King of Fighters XIII, but more importantly Soul Calibur V.  A new PS3 was purchased and I got myself ready to run Soul Calibur V in the new year. I purchased SC V day one took it home and set in, but it wasn’t until I was watching a live stream on twitch.tv that set in motion my personal road to Toryuken.

It’s around february where I found the Torontotoptiers channel on twitch.tv, The gaming streaming section of Justin.tv, That I found there was a place I could play fighters with people again having been away from the public scene for around 10 years.  I realized I would have to work very hard considering my old style of playing fighting games was no longer available to me as I’ve lost my hearing now. I continued to visit the channel and various others to see if anyone was showing some simple set tech for the character I use that I could analyze with just watching since a majority of livestreams seem to use a lot of audio it’s hard for me to understand whats going on most of the time. I got an invitation to come out and see the place the TTT guys were streaming from and having recognized the store name from various anime and comic conventions I already knew where the shop was, but not that the Gaming area was right there as well.  As mentioned in a previous post TTT RXS(Vince)  had invited me out to come see and play over at A&C World and so I came out during a weekend tournament in March to observe and play a few rounds here and there. During these months I had also been looking at  Shoryuken(SRK) site forum and noticed Toryuken in the canada section. I originally planned only to go as a spectator, but with encouragement from many friends I was persuaded to enter the competition.

During all of that I also became reintroduced to Skullgirls, which I had heard about, but didn’t really know much about last year. I purchased this on PSN in April as soon as the shop would let me find it online >.> I am having a lot of fun with that game and hope that more is to come for it.  I have pre registered for Toryuken  as soon as I was able to meet up with NeoRussell of the Torontotoptiers and entered for Soul Calibur V and though I have a feeling I will be very free…also entered skullgirls, but as the time comes closer I become more nervous and I hope to shake the feeling by next weekend.

Now that story time is out of the way, here is the schedule which can also be found at the TTT website.

Toryuken Schedule:

9:00a-10:30a – Registration

-Capcom Games-
12:00p-4:00p – SSFIV Singles
2:00p-8:00p – UMvC3 Singles
7:00p-12:00p – SFxT 2v2

The Following Games Starts at 2:00p
-Mortal Kombat
-Soul Calibur V
-SkullGirls
-King Of Fighters
-BlazBlue Continuum Shift Extend
-Tekken 6

STREAM SCHEDULE:
Note: Subject to changes

-Saturday Stream 1-
12:00p-4:00p – SSFIV Singles
4:00p-8:00p – UMvC3 Singles
8:00p-12a – SFxT 2v2

-Saturday Stream 2-
1:00p-3:00p – King Of Fighters XIII
3:00p-5:00p – Soul Calibur V
5:00p-8:00p – Mortal Kombat

-Sunday Stream 1-
11:00a-12:00p – Tekken 6 Top 3
12:00p-1:00p – BlazBlue Top 3
1:00p-2:00p – King Of Fighters Top 2
2:00p-3:00p – Soul Calibur V Top 4
3:00-4:00 – SkullGirls Top 4
4:00-6:00 – Mortal Kombat Top 8
6:00p-8:00p – SSFIV Top 8
8:00p-10:00p – SFxT Top 4
10:00p-12:00a – UMvC3 Top 8

-Sunday Stream 2-
12:00p-3:00p – SSFIV Top 16 to Top 8
3:00p-6:00p – UMvC3 Top 16 to Top 8

The stream channels can be found here!

www.twitch.tv/torontotoptiers

www.twitch.tv/torontotoptiers2

Well That’s all for me !  Wish me luck guys, and thanks for all the support you’ve given me to return to the fighting game community! I may not place very high, but enjoying myself and seeing first hand how I do and what  I can do to improve in the Long run are my points to go on. Panda is going in!

~ Panda

Leave a Reply

 
